High blood pressure can be an issue

After years of being treated for high blood pressure, the routine for me goes like this. You go to the Doctors office and are anxious while waiting to have the reading announced. The Doctor is always in a hurray, slaps the cuff on , takes one reading, and prescribes drugs. Only advice is , lose weight, don’t smoke, don’t drink, and avoid salt. Exercise and eat fruit and veggies. Hello we know all that.Okay your out of here. When all else fails high B/P is probably genetic.

I’m a retired geriatrician.

One way to minimize the fall risk for elderly people on medications: blood pressure medications, antidepressants, cardiac drugs, etc. is for the prescribing clinician to take his or her patients’ blood pressure and pulse with the individual first lying down and then standing.

This is a check for orthostatic hypotension, a significant fall in blood pressure and increase in pulse when moving from supine to standing. If present, the risk of a fall is markedly increased and medications may need adjusting to lower the risk of a fall. Unfortunately, it takes a bit of time, must be done correctly, and is rarely done these days.

I provide care for three elderly relatives in their nineties.

I’ve attended numerous medical office visits with in various medical setting over the past few years and have yet to see a single blood pressure determination done by a medical assistant done correctly in order to obtain an accurate reading.

At the ages being studied, other factors come in play: Vision acuity (not perceiving stair edges or things on the floor/ground, for example) muscle weakness and physical reaction time (to prevent falling) are important factors. Just as they are in driving at those ages.

Any study done on the difference in strokes under the 150/90 guideline compared to the 140/90? Ever tried to use on of those blood pressure calculators?

“It’s really up to patients and caregivers to make it clear: this is something that’s important to me”.

After I had a stent at age 74, my doctor prescribed a Beta-blocker along with a blood thinner, Plavix, plus a statin, etc. To be frank, I hated the side effects. I put up with them as long as I could for about a year, and then went off all medications except baby aspirin, including statins.

I switched to a plant-based diet, lost 30 pounds to reach my BMI weight, and exercise daily. That was over five years ago and I feel great. The ultimate test was last Christmas season as I worked at Amazon.com for three months doing brutal, physical labor, bending up and down for ten hours a day, 50 hours a week to scans items in thousands of bins. After the first two weeks, I never had a pain or ache.

BP increase

I have noticed that my BP has increased a bit and it is necessary for me to make sure I work out daily at least 30-60 minutes by walking with weights, biking, jogging, etc. to bring the BP back into my desired range. I decided recently to go back to 10 mg of Lipitor along with CoQ10 at 200 mg as extra insurance, based on the advice of my daughter who is an MD (Internist). The statins did not work for my wife who had severe muscle and joint pain as a result, but so far I have had no problems with Lipitor possibly because of the low dosage and the use of CoQ10 supplement (and diet).

The people over at the Cleveland Clinic seem to have a more balaced approach towards treating heart desease. Drugs and stents are a short term answer to a long term problem (IMHO).

I will be 79 this fall. Not surprisingly when I see a doctor all vital signs are where they should be.. the nurse always asks for a list of my medications..When I tell them I take nothing beyond an occasional aspirin they look at me like either I’m a liar or extremely forgetful…it seems to be rare in their experience.

it certainly isn’t because I follow a veggie diet..no programmed exercise.. I take dog for walk and do house and yard work… ..moderate smoker and an occasional glass of single malt Scotch..I am not overweight – still have a waist line – I suspect it is more genetic than life style… I’m a family history enthusiast and have long-lived ancestors, even during the centuries of low life expectancy…My Danish great-grandmother was still writing in her journal when she died at 93 back in 1937

One Comment on “High blood pressure can be an issue”

  1. […] the SNS, and promoting hypertension, both have pro-inflammatory […]


Leave a Reply

