Why Losing Weight May Require Some Serious Effort

Here’s what people from nytimes are saying about weight loss and all dieting stuff.

Both eating less and moving more helps with weight control. Eating even less and moving even more helps with weight loss. But it doesn’t take rocket science to figure out if you choose something you love to do it will not be work. I used to walk miles and miles.

I love to ride my bike for fun but the very atmosphere of a gym with all the huffing and grunting just turns me off. Unfortunately I have periformis problems that now limits me to short walks. Someone fiddled and broke the brakes on my bike and in other to have it fixed I have to walk it a fairly long distance – my car is very small. So over the winter I gained an uncomfortable amount of weight but I ate the same as usual. The sad part for me if I live a few steps from one of the greatest bike paths in the country. So I have to wait it out for now. All I can say is MOVE any way that you actually like.

I’m an experienced endurance athlete and I can tell you that if you are engaging in serious endurance sports such as cycling, running, triathlon, etc., that eating is not an issue. You can pretty much eat anything you want and you will lose weight.

And in order to lose weight just by eating less is not really a good idea. It leads to eating disorders and ruins your concentration and ability to think.

Another study on losing weight! Almost every day a new study. Will they ever end? This one is much sillier than the rest — thinking “playtime” versus “exercise” — but it did gain media attention. Tomorrow it will be forgotten, replaced by another study with a new theory on losing weight. Wouldn’t it easier to forget about the studies and just use common sense — exercise regularly and consume less high calorie food. It works for me.

For a lot of us, reframing exercise as playtime increases the likelihood that we will stick with it. Different strokes for different folks. Peace out

Eventually, I lost the weight fixation, and with that returned to normal eating habits. I eat when I am hungry and exactly what I want. Never have the urge to over eat.

Now, as a middle ager, am thinner than I was when I finished high school. Actually ran into someone in my community that I recognized from same school we both attended. The other person was quite overweight, and I was proud that I hadn’t packed on pounds.

“You allow yourself to do something BAD (like eating more cheeseburgers, fries, and onion rings) after you’ve done something GOOD for yourself!”

An August 2011 study published in the journal Addiction shows that the same licensing effect can happen with smokers: those who took pills they believed were vitamins – actually just sugar pills – smoked significantly more cigarettes afterward than those in a control group.

John Cloud wrote in his TIME article that he felt virtuous. He knew he was getting his nutrition in the pills, so he felt licensed to eat a less healthy diet with more calories.

That pervasive sense of “earning” treats or rewards for our hard effort may be at work here.

2 Comments on “Why Losing Weight May Require Some Serious Effort”

  1. […] is whywe continue to be told that eat less and exercise more is the ideal way to lose weight. Of course this advice doesn’t work, but the industries that […]

  2. […] Buying your own produce and cooking daily meals from scratch probably are a big help, and this practice is also cheaper than eating out, even at fast food places. I just refuse to believe that we have no control over our weight. Read more about losing weight on proper way here. […]


Leave a Reply

